Recently the topic of the sinfulness of humanity has arisen in conversation with friends. Strangely this delights me. What kind of sick misanthrope am I, talking about a topic like this, with glee even?

Well, I haven’t always embraced this T in TULIP. But when I began reading the Bible in college the fundamental change in my heart began, and I was really convinced that I am a sinner.

Romans 1:10-12:
“as it is written: None is righteous, no, not one; no one understands; no one seeks for God. All have turned aside; together they have become worthless; no one does good, not even one.” (ESV)

It is a blessed thing when the Holy Spirit moves on the Word, and convicts our hearts of sin, death, and destruction. I think it is at such an hour that the Spirit may enable us to love Christ, bringing us from spiritual death to spiritual life.

I write this as probably the simpliest introduction to Total Depravity, our utter sinfulness before God as self-loving, God hating, debtors. This coincidentally is how I was introduced to the TULIP, and so naturally I think it a fine way of being introduced to reformed thought.

I hope this post can act as a talking point for biblical theology. Perhaps Larry would be willing to post on the L of TULIP during the process. 🙂

Two brief suggestions I joyously make on this topic are from John Piper and R.M. McCheyne.

-Mark

