A couple of weeks ago I finished up “Beyond the Bounds, Open Theism and the Undermining of Biblical Christianity” (ed. John Piper, Justin Taylor, and Paul Kjoss Helseth). I’ve intended to write a review, but have not made the time. Let me simply say it is a great book; well written, documented, and reasoned. I’ve enjoyed it thoroughly and learned much. It has also been an introduction to reformed authors (mostly in the academy) that I had not yet read, but showed up to say hello in the footnotes (which are oh so plentiful). BUT, this is not a review of the book.

I’ve gone back over my favorite chapter (it was hard to pick, but I did), and hope to post some of the points that stuck out to me, as well as a few thoughts on those points. The chapter was “Veiled Glory: God’s Self-Revelation in Human Likeness – A Biblical Theology of God’s Anthropomorphic Self-Disclosure” by A.B. Caneday.

Now I have never read Caneday prior to this chapter, but his handling of this subject gave me more than one “ah-ha” moment in its course. It also crystallized some thoughts that I could never isolate and articulate. Perhaps this subject is old hat for some, but this text has been very new and fresh and enjoyable.

So forthcoming are some posts on A.B. Caneday’s discussion of God’s self-revelation and it’s nature as anthropomorphism*.

-mark

*equally forthcoming are definitions, so don’t get too riled up yet!

