Yes, the price paid for sin was finished with Christ’s death on the cross, and everything in the world goes back to God…
But here I start speaking of something different, of finishing Les Misérables. That French classic, conquered after a month of intense reading (myself being a slow reader), plunged me into the world of Jean Valjean in an attempt to build my vocabulary. It did more than that. Here, I would like to share a little of the world the author opened up to me.
As I closed the volume, I found myself in mediation and trembling. The subject matter of the book is the redeeming of human life from evil to good, of benevolence towards the poor, of virtue, and of death. I disagree with the author, Victor Hugo, on his analysis of man and soft-pedaling of sin in places, and on a few of his theological fineries, but I admire the liberty he takes in unbosoming his heart to the reader. How else can a heart or anything else be corrected, except that it is laid open and allowed to circumspection.
I meditate on the reality of death and what will be said of my life at the end; I wonder, though too lightly, in the fear of God who is ever watching. I soberly take in mind that He is watching right now. Do not mistake me on the fear of God. Some dismiss this as simply being awe or reverance. I take this, from my own studies, my own zeal, possibly my own youth and lack of experience, and possibly from a gracious shedding of a truth by God, as being true, yet incomplete, as it lacks the substance of the very word that defines it, namely, FEAR, the synonyms of which are terror, dread, etc. I will address these shortly, though by no means compose an irrefutable proof.
Hugo brought back the reality that my life will soon, in mist like fashion, dissipate. What will await me on the side of that irreturnable gulf between the living and the dead? No human in history, crossing that chasm, has come back (with exceptions given to a few prophets- Moses and Elijah- and to Christ himself). With each turn of the gears and tick of the clock, the one way passage across the bridge that affords no returns looms nearer. And what stands there?
I AM is there, as the passer is shuttled from the bridge to the foot of a majestic throne, under a gaze that melts the mountains like wax. I think the reflex under that gaze would be described in fear, terror, trembling, or something similar. That is why I say that fear of God is more than simply awe, but more appropriately a trembling of the limbs, a weakness of the bones, a collapse of the body, and fainting.
As thoughts of fear, God, and eternity arise, suddenly the plans on Friday night are not so important, and suddenly the earlier insult carries the weight of a feather, and suddenly I must take into account how I am spending my time, my money, and my words.

And so, all of human history and purpose ties into God and the finished sacrificial act of Jesus Christ. Death and life are to one purpose, “Fear God and keep his commandments, for that is the WHOLE duty of man.”
-Ecclesiastes 12:13
And the greatest of God’s commandments… To LOVE- God and your neighbor.

Less Miserably,
Larry

