Last night as I returned from work, I watched the news and saw a very interesting story.
A man, Matt Dubay of Saginaw, MI, filed suit to cease paying child support.
The conclusions of Roe v Wade in 1973 are what caught my attention.
The director for the National Center Men, Mel Feit, appeared to justify this case. He argued that a woman had the choice, if she wanted, to be free from paying child support. If she wanted, she could legally terminate her pregnancy or simply drop it off in a hospital or somewhere else and be free from any financial obligation to the child. Therefore, the father who was not ready to be a father, should also be free from the financial obligations to a child he was not ready for.
The other arugment that was presented struck me as well. Mel argued that Dubay was simply responsible for forming a fetus (a mass of cells), which Lauren Wells chose to carry and allow to mature into a child.
In this particular case there is one child at stake. However, my hope is that logic and reason will preside in the courts that many other lives will redeemed as well. This has the potential, I believe, to bring before a more logical Supreme Court a more concrete definition (and hopefully a more responsible one) of when a life is formed and what the obligations of men and women are. I hope it brings before us what our obligations are regarding the gift of sex and what the constraints of that gift are (marriage). I hope it brings back a more real fear of transgressing God’s boundaries and being responsible to God but leaves the transgressors open to view and see and experience God’s love and mercy and forgiveness.
When I think of this sin and trangression, I am reminded of a God fearing man, said to be a man after God’s own heart, who fell himself to adultery and murder. He was stricken with a godly sorrow, and after pleading to be cleansed from his sin said, “Restore to me the JOY of your salvation… then I will teach transgressors your ways, and sinners will return to you. Deliver me from bloodguiltiness, O God, O God of my salvation, and my tongue will sing aloud of your righteousness” (Psalm 51:12-14 ESV).
Lead us in Your ways, O God, and teach us to fear and obey You, that we may impart your joy and love and cleansing power to those in need and without hope.

By His Grace,
Larry

