Finding reformed baptist churchs similar to my church is a great joy. When visiting, it really turns that business trip weekend into an opportunity to learn from brothers and sisters you’ve never met before, and may not meet again til Glory.

Today I went to this church here in Florida. A great little congregation of warm hearted folks, who love the Lord. I didn’t make it to the main service (as a road closure, getting lost, running out of toll money, driving through a part of Orlando I’d call Vanity Fair, and other providences prevented me), however I did get to share in the Bible study/sermon processing session following.

While there are many stories here to share (such as meeting a couple on staff w/ Wycliffe and sharing lunch with them, I’ll fill you and Stacey in Eegana), there is one lesson among many worth sharing now.

Simply, what do you talk about with someone you’ve never met before, and may never see again when you just have 15 minutes? Here’s what the answer shouldn’t be, I think: Work, hobbys, people.

I missed a tremendous opportunity to have deeper fellowship with some of these brothers by failing to ask just some simple questions, How did Christ get ahold of your life? How do you understand God’s providence in leading you to himself?

It is that simple, the depth of our fellowship could have gone far beyond the “what do you do?” “what do you don’t?”, yada yada yada.

I need not keep this lesson for roadtrips either! What if I apply this in my own church? I get an opportunity to chat with a fellow, what is more pertinent than Chirst?! Tell me about Christ’s work in your life brother!

Yes, I talked theology and subculture kind of stuff, which was encouraging, and the small group time was sweet as we opened the Word together and processed the sermon (that I had missed, but pieced together from the anecdotes), but by grace, let’s press for depth to the exalting of Christ in his work.

Perhaps I am over-reacting and expecting too much from time with others, but in the least I (and perhaps others) could be more discerning and prayerful before entering into fellowship.

