As I was at work today I was listening to talk radio (as I usually do). Yes, I enjoy the conservative commentaries of Rush Limbaugh and Sean Hannity, I am one of “those”. Today though I was listening to a less conservative show and during a commercial brake I heard the following from Dr. Dean Adel:

“Can cussing be good for you?…Studies show that cussing can relieve stress…we are the only animals capable of using such words…think about it if you were to get cut off in a car, simply saying a cuss word to yourself or in your head is better than the alternative…after all, if you bottle it up you can let it go and border on Terretts Syndrome which is a neurological disorder…while we don’t encourage you to teach your children that they should do this, it can be a good thing” (this is a paraphrase of his words…I couldn’t write them all fast enough)

Wow…I would like to know what kind of doctor this guy is…perhaps him and Kavorkian meet up for coffee and discuss philosophy and ethics.

This sort of worldview is permeating our society, our education and media institutions, our political system and even our churches. We must be vigilant in our churches and daily lives to prove the transforming power of the Holy Spirit AGAINST this sort of depravity. Cussing doesn’t relieve stress, it is SIN and causes more anxiety (instead we should “Cast our anxiety on him because he cares for us”). Even cussing in our heads isn’t a ‘good thing’ (But I tell you that anyone who is angry with his brother will be subject to judgment. Again, anyone who says to his brother, ‘Raca, ‘ is answerable to the Sanhedrin. But anyone who says, ‘You fool!’ will be in danger of the fire of hell.)

Indeed we need to be transformed. Oh Lord help us NOT to conform but be transformed by the renewing or our minds and sanctified by your truth, YOUR WORD IS TRUTH!

