You guessed it, I had my first Greek midterm last night. I found it surprising how much I did actually know considering that I’ve only had concentrated study of the material for about two months.

But something troubled me with my translation methodology. You see, my engineering undergrad taught me to learn enough to get through the test, not to learn the material for it’s own sake. So difficult exams would involve all manner of processing the information given, and sparsely remembered, to produce the most points.

How does this affect Greek? Well, instead of translating a Greek phrase or sentence, my engineering conditioned mind tries to decode it. The instant some phrase sounds like a Scriptural caption – ZING – I write out the rest of the verse! What nonsense! Instead of using the Greek I know to translate into english, I find myself relying more heavily on english translations to reverse engineer the Greek! Wretched man that I am, who will deliver me from this mind of death?!

Fortunately for me, God is gracious and I am actually learning some Greek, and the exam wasn’t that much of a tragedy. And the good news is that with these catagories, if the test went well, it will be a comedy.

