spamcans-s1.jpgWe all have to deal with it in the internet age: SPAM. It’s constant, it’s annoying, and it’s frequently offensive or downright sinful. Not only has spam changed the way we use email, it has garnered a major software industry and federal legislation.

But something that I noticed today as I went in to to delete the filtered advert spam, was a new use or benefit of spam. You see, advertisers are selling products in ways that appeal to people’s needs and desires, right? I posit that the more clear the connection between product and benefits, the more likely a customer will purchase said product. Not surprisingly, most spam is aimed at private desires and deep seeded needs. The good thing about this is the window it provides to what advertisers think is the desire of the modern american heart.

What do people want, truly? More money, more stuff, nicer stuff, better sex lives, US citizenship, prestige (through degrees, cars, aforementioned stuff), etc. The constant stream of spam is a ticker-tape of the american heart. Sadly, the barometer of human desire does not indicate a rising of affections to God.

Fortunately I am not bombarded with Theological and Puritan Book Spam, as I would probably max out our credit card in a day… but I digress.

I suppose the point I’m getting at is how, if we are not tempted by the spam, we can use it as social commentary. Advertisers are doing thier darndest to sell stuff to people, and they aim at the heart. They are doing my work for me! If I want to know what’s on my neighbor’s mind, I could get a clue from just looking through the spam. And this is somehow noteworthy to me and valuable enough to share, go figure!

What do you think?

After I wrote this I popped over to Amazon and looked at thier 25 top selling books (which updates every hour,) currently they are:

You: On A Diet: The Owner’s Manual for Waist Management
by Michael F. Roizen, Mehmet C. Oz

The God Delusion
by Richard Dawkins

The Audacity of Hope: Thoughts on Reclaiming the American Dream
by Barack Obama

Cross
by James Patterson

The Innocent Man: Murder and Injustice in a Small Town
by John Grisham

For One More Day
by Mitch Albom

I Like You: Hospitality Under the Influence
by Amy Sedaris

The End (A Series of Unfortunate Events, Book 13)
by Lemony Snicket, Brett Helquist (Illustrator)

Joy of Cooking: 75th Anniversary Edition – 2006
by Irma S. Rombauer, Marion Rombauer Becker, Ethan Becker

Martha Stewart’s Homekeeping Handbook: The Essential Guide to Caring for Everything in Your Home
by Martha Stewart

Wild Fire
by Nelson DeMille

Culture Warrior
by Bill O’Reilly

YOU: The Owner’s Manual: An Insider’s Guide to the Body that Will Make You Healthier and Younger
by Michael F. Roizen, Mehmet Oz

Dear John
by Nicholas Sparks

Living Divine Relationships
by Zhi Gang Sha

The Shape Shifter (Joe Leaphorn/Jim Chee Novels)
by Tony Hillerman

Marley & Me: Life and Love with the World’s Worst Dog
by John Grogan

State of Denial: Bush at War, Part III
by Bob Woodward

Nature Girl
by Carl Hiaasen

Lisey’s Story
by Stephen King

A Photographer’s Life: 1990-2005
by Annie Leibovitz (Photographer)

Letter to a Christian Nation
by Sam Harris

America Alone: The End of the World as We Know It
by Mark Steyn

Next
by Michael Crichton

The World Is Flat [Updated and Expanded]: A Brief History of the Twenty-first Century
by Thomas L. Friedman

Truly a pretty depressing lot. However, I find this to be another social barometer, if you will. While I think the only one I’d care to read is Morley and Me or maybe The End, but what do you glean from this list? What does this tell us about the American population? (Assuming Amazon.com customers accurately represent the American population.)

