I thought it would be fruitful to post some notes from this summer’s Bible study.  My theme has been Jude 3 and hammering home some of the definitive beliefs of the Christian in this postmodern milieu we find ourselves in.  The old saying goes that wherever the boundaries are established, there will the battle take place.  I’m ready to contend for these:

The Resurrection

Beloved, although I was very eager to write to you about our common salvation, I found it necessary to write to you appealing to you to contend for the faith that was once for all delivered to the saints.-Jude 3 In popular Christianity, statements come up like the following:I have friends who I am quite sure are Christians who do not believe in the bodily resurrection…Marcus Borg really does not believe Jesus Christ was bodily raised from the dead. But I know Marcus well: he loves Jesus and believes in him passionately. The philosophical and cultural world he has lived in has made it very, very difficult for him to believe in the bodily resurrection.Borg, mentioned above, has spent decades denying the virgin birth, miracles of Jesus (turning water to wine, walking on water, feeding multitudes, and more), and even that Jesus was God.  These exclude him from orthodox Christianity, but what if we limit the above statement to just the resurrection?  What does the Bible say about it? Although this comes from a popular writer, is it Christian??The Bible tells us:If you confess with your mouth that Jesus is Lord and believe in your heart that God rasied him from the dead, you will be saved.  For with the heart one believes and is justified, and with the mouth one confesses and is saved. -Romans 10:9-10Now I would remind you, brothers, of the gospel I preached to you, which you received, in which you stand, and by which you are being saved, if you hold fast to the word I preached to you- unless you believed in vain.  For I delivered to you as of first importance what I also received: that Christ died for our sins in accordance with the Scriptures, that he was buried, that he was raised on the third day in accordance with the Scriptures            I Corinthians 15:1-4 Matthew, Mark, Luke, and John all affirm the empty tomb, Jesus’ physical resurrection, and his interactions with the disciples after his death.  In his life he proved his power of nature (calming of storm), over the spiritual realm (casting out of demons), over the physical realm (turning water to wine), over knowledge (knowing all that was done by the Samaritan woman); in his resurrection he proves his power over death itself, the last enemy.  Death is swallowed up in victory.  O death, where is your victory?  O death, where is your sting –I Corinthians 15:54-55 The take away-

See to it that you are rooted and grounded in Christ.  See to it that no one, ‘takes you captive by human ideas (Colossians 2:6-8). 

