A quick glance at the news today brought this headline to sight (warning- offensive content). 

Call-Girl Centerfold? Penthouse magazine wants woman at center of Eliot Spitzer call-girl scandal”

Shameless exhibition is too trite of a phrase to describe this situation, but nothing more fitting is coming to mind.  It’s sad that the sin that will change the life of three daughters and a wife is now being exalted and spread, to dissolve more marriages and marr more lives.  What good came from it the first time?  Why is it still being spread?  Paul’s answer two thousand years ago is timely.  We have forgotten God and been given over to his gifts, which we have in turn exalted and made our Gods.  Like the plague that fell on Israelite exiles who were given meat until they could eat no more because of their complaining, we are in a land diseased with its lusting.  It’s no longer secret, it’s no longer shameful.  Listen to Paul’s words:

Therefore God gave them up in the lusts of their hearts to impurity, to the dishonoring of their bodies among themselves, because they exchanged the truth about God for a lie and worshiped and served the creature rather than the Creator, who is blessed forever! Amen.

Romans 1:24-25

Paul’s solution to our problem:

  •  if you confess with your mouth that Jesus is Lord and believe in your heart that God raised him from the dead, you will be saved. For with the heart one believes and is justified, and with the mouth one confesses and is saved (Rom 10:9-10).
  • So I find it to be a law that when I want to do right, evil lies close at hand. For I delight in the law of God, in my inner being, but I see in my members another law waging war against the law of my mind and making me captive to the law of sin that dwells in my members. Wretched man that I am! Who will deliver me from this body of death? Thanks be to God through Jesus Christ our Lord! (Rom 10:21-25a).